Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Tigers & Dragons
6 juillet 2010

From Wales with love

Tradition being tradition, here is the newsletter.

I took the eurostar yesterday morning and got to London St-kidney (or whatever it's called). I walked over to the car rental place where I was handed over a Toyota Prius, with no instructions whatsoever. Trouble is, the inside looks like a jet fighter cockpit with 752 buttons and switches. In addition, the motor is electric, so you don't even know if the damn thing is running or not. So I stayed for 10 minutes on the parking lot like an idiot trying to drive a car...

I drove West (through the nice parts of London, which was very pleasant), and had a Guiness with a friend in Maidenhead, as I was afraid I would be arrested by the British police if I had not drunk before driving. A couple hours more westbound, and I checked into my hotel in Newport, where I was able to go for a swim, and get past the Welsh accent which brings me to ask them to repeat each sentence twice. I managed to dodge the stuffed sheep stomach for dinner, and headed off to bed.

This morning, it happened : I engaged into a roundabout french-style, which is to say the wrong-way-style (what is wrong with these people?). Fortunately, there was no one on it, and I escaped unscathed, my car undamaged (which is mercy, as the slightest scratch allows them to take my children as down-payment). I'm off to work, wishing France a nice day.

Best,

James Harrington

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Tigers & Dragons
Publicité
Archives
Newsletter
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 155
Publicité